Discuss Are my electrics safe? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

Justmovedin

Hello all,

Firstly I am not an electrician but I am clued up on atleast the basics, I have just bought a house and as my kids will live here I would like to make sure the electrics have not been done by cowboys so I will start from the beginning.

My living room has 2 double sockets, 1 both sides of the chimney breast, one is attached to the ring mains and the other is a spur. I would like to add 2 more double sockets in this room so I enlisted the help of my out of date electrician father (16th edition), to my knowledge extending a ring mains is ok for a competent person as long as not messing around with the CU. The wires to the extra sockets will be 2.5mm twin and earth continuing the ring mains and will be just behind 12.5mm plasterboard with metal capping. This circuit is RCD protected.

First question, is there any 17th edition changes to this my father will be unaware of or does this sound ok?

Secondly, upon inspecting the MCBs we have found out that the upstairs and downstairs socket MCBs do not switch of the sockets, but switching of the RCD protecting that gang (UP sockets, DWN sockets, Kitchen and Shower (non existent anymore) does turn the sockets off. There are 2.5mm wires going to these breakers but it doesn't seam to switch anything off.

Is this ok?

Thirdly the kitchen is an extension labelled cooker on the MCB. It does switch of all kitchen sockets including an electric oven I believe to be 2.6kw. however this is a ring of 2.5mm twin and earth protected by a 40amp MCB and the same RCD protecting all other sockets.

Is this ok?

And lastly if I were to have an electrician check over the electrics what would this involve, multi meter type stuff or pulling up floor boards and ceilings etc? And cost for this?

Many thanks, I give you alot to work with and all advice is greatly appreciated.