Discuss Back up generator on domestic in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

growler

-
Arms
Reaction score
A customer has asked me to connect his back up generator 'properly' as currently he just flicks the main switch and plugs straight into the down stairs ring main.
I admit I have little experience with this and won't take it on unless I'm 100% I'm doing it correctly. It's a 5.5kva generator on a tt.
Can somebody help me with what I need to consider ?
So far I'm thinking
- change over switch
- earth electrode

Here we go.
1) your change over switch MUST disconnect Phase/ neutral AND EARTH from your DNO supply
2) Install an earth rod or mat connected to the frame of the genny
3) Link Neutral and Earth in the alternator
4) Unless the alternator has a method of maintaining the correct voltage / frequency, ie an AVR, do not connect any electronic equipment to the output

I will give you two other bits of advice,free. 1) your geny is of the wrong type and undersize, 2) Your customer will not pay what you will require to do it properly.....the distance between using the ubiquitous double plug top lead,and the correct system,is about the price of a month cruise to somewhere expensive...bon appetit

I personally wouldn't worry about disconnecting the earth, as you're always going to have inadvertent connections via bonding, CPC's and the general mass of earth, between your genny rod, and the DNO earth. In this instance, being a TT system, you needn't disconnect the earth anyway.