Discuss Baxi 600 electrical connection in the Central Heating Systems area at ElectriciansForums.net

niren

-
Reaction score
Howdy - first post and need some advice. Baxi 630 boiler

To start with i am not qualified in anything and i know the wiring in the photo is from the 90s. Please bear with me....

We had a new boiler fitted a couple of weeks ago by a certified gas engineer. He was a sub of my builder. At the time my programmer was bust so the gas fitter couldn't test using the controls. I've now installed tado which all works fine but the boiler doesn't fire up for heat. I am no expert but was comfortable enough to test the connections at the programmer for being live when calling for heat I then tested the switch live in the boiler and a signal is being received (all done using a screwdriver tester - like I said no expert!!). The lights all lit up which to me means the boiler is receiving signal to switch on?. This is the wiring - not done by me but a subby employed by another subby of my builder - into the boiler from the fuse spur. Switch live is black.

Is this correct? FWIW the boiler is about 2 weeks old. When the gas guy fitted it he tested by plugging directly into a socket. Reason i ask is doesnt a switch live need a neutral to come back to complete the circuit? Sorry if i sound stoopid - just want to check before forking out....

I have also taken a screengrab of the installation manual that shows where the connections should go. Has this been installed corectly?

baxi.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2018-09-24 at 20.13.23.jpeg

My advise is get a spark in to sort it out .other wise it could be a expensive mistake.just to elitarate why are you using a neon screw driver for testing you could have used your finger ;)

Last edited:
The red and blue wires aren't properly in their terminals for a start.