Discuss Becoming a domestic installer in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

I

iaingray5

Hi everyone,

Im looking at getting back into the game as leaving my current profession. About 12 years ago i was an engineer with ADT doing CCTV and alarms etc. I served my time at college doing my sparks course, (16th edition i think) but i have forgotten most, if not all of what i did there. I still keep my hand in from time to time as i have moved house etc and done some minor jobs for family. My question is this, what exactly do i need to become a basic domestic installer and be able to test domestic installations to issue certificates for building control.......
I am told that it all changed this year and i might be able to pick up an evening college course to get my appropriate "tickets" and then look at stating up myself and gaining niceic approval......
I should also say, im in Scotland but i dont think there is much, if any difference.....

Thanks for looking

Hi everyone,

Im looking at getting back into the game as leaving my current profession. About 12 years ago i was an engineer with ADT doing CCTV and alarms etc. I served my time at college doing my sparks course, (16th edition i think) but i have forgotten most, if not all of what i did there. I still keep my hand in from time to time as i have moved house etc and done some minor jobs for family. My question is this, what exactly do i need to become a basic domestic installer and be able to test domestic installations to issue certificates for building control.......
I am told that it all changed this year and i might be able to pick up an evening college course to get my appropriate "tickets" and then look at stating up myself and gaining niceic approval......