Discuss Been out of the game for a while..... How hard is work to find in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

W

Warleyboy

Hi all, would really appreciate some feedback to my mid life crisis, lol.
i currently work as a technician on 11kV and Lv main circuits. My job has changed recently with myself back in the field fault finding on Lv whilst also carrying out project work ,ie, installing Hv substations, overhead line, Hv/Lv diversions etc.
I carried out an electrical apprenticeship when I was younger and gained my c&g 236 parts 1&2, but come out of the game spending 13 years in telecoms and then fell into project management, but job has changed now with new owners and having to work out in the field again.
I keep getting told to work for myself as I am very hardworking and would reap the rewards for myself rather than the business who employ me. I would only take on domestic work to start off with as it has been nearly 20 years since I was properly on the tools.
I've kept my hands in it a little helping out family and friends when I can.
firstly, I would like to carry out a testing and inspection refresher, any ideas how long the course would take and at what cost ? Secondly, I want to work for myself as sick of taking crap from gaffers who wouldn't know a hard days graft if it hit em where it hurts, but how hard is work to find at the minute.
i earn in the region of £45,000 + depending on how much overtime they squeeze outta me, I would hopefully want to earn 30,000 per annum to keep me ticking over, or am I clutching at straws...