Discuss Best online middle man in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

After signing up with checkatrade i am averaging an extra 4 jobs a week which is brilliant.

What other online middlemen are great as some i know are a waste of time?
Not a lot to say about "checkatrade" Chris, I have had some bad experiences with these middlemen as you call them, all I can say is be careful, and don't cut corners. Oh and good luck hope it works out for you.

After signing up with checkatrade i am averaging an extra 4 jobs a week which is brilliant.

What other online middlemen are great as some i know are a waste of time?

Just for the record, for others future reference, what is the cost of this contract with Checkatrade?

Aside from your membership, how much has it cost you to get those jobs?

Nothing except your time to visit the client and do the job ...... Is my understanding.

I can't justify check a trade as it's more than my entire marketing budget and I have more work, generally, than I can cope with and / or need

One issue I have seen with checkatrade is customers holding tradesmen to ransom for a good rating.
You have to get a 10/10 rating in everything to keep at the top of their list, and customers know this so they use it as a way to get extras done for free.

And with the way their rating system is set up you automatically get marked down for any extra works done and charged for which were not at the customers request, so if you find something which is dangerous and fix it for the customer then you either have to not charge for it or get a lower score than if you ignored it and left the dangerous situation.

As I see it the system is great for people like decorators, gardeners, window cleaners etc where they don't have the problem of hidden faults requiring extra work to fix.

One issue I have seen with checkatrade is customers holding tradesmen to ransom for a good rating.