Discuss Bonding Advice Needed in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

B

Bolty2uk

Hiya.
New to this great forum so firstly would like to say hi. Im not an electrician and dont confess to being technically minded but i do have a quandry so after some advice really.
Anyway. My question is this. In a building that has 5 seperate flats we have all incoming service heads at ground level then via a main switch and rcd a 16mm twin and earth goes to each flat where the sparky will fit new boards to serve each flat. Now as im a builder organising all this i need to make sure all the plumbing and electrics are in place before i start putting in dropped ceilings and studwork etc..

Now question is in each flat there will be metal pipes to heating and water etc and i would assume they need bonding.
Now. The sparks has told me he is happy to run 16mm earth to main incoming water and gas from main earth block where incomers all are near front downstairs. So in effect no extra bonding in each flat.
But another guy we use said we need to run 6mm earth from the earth block in the fuse board in each flat to all the metal stuff in that flat in addition to what first guy said.

Now to save a barney and me a job of having to rip up floorboards later on does anyone know who is right. My money is on second guy but the lad we always use is positive and its all getting a bit hassly lol.
Anyone have any thoughts.
Many thanks for and replies i might get.
Thanks

The size of the bonding will depend on the size of the incoming supply from the DNO (electricity board), who may even specify the size required above what the wiring regs call for.
In the average house main bonding will be 10mm, in small blocks of flats 16mm is not unusual.