Discuss Brand new to the Forums and need advice in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi Everyone
I figured I needed to join a forum to ask for advice and learn from it. I have no formal experience as an electrician, but attempt to understand things when needed. I am actually a Sculptor by trade and an Artist. I am a member of the Herefordshire Guild of Craftsmen and we have to deal with setting up electric extension leads and lights at several shows during the year. This week we had a directive from a venue stipulating changes in safety. In the past, each member taking part in a show would take control of their own space and power up accordingly. This has all changed because of the classic 'Daisy Chaining' of extension cables. We have been given a restriction of 3 cables in a line and no more than 7 metres in total length. When you have got 27 members taking part ( in a weeks time ) and 7 twin supplied sockets, you have to use the dreaded daisy chaining. The restrictions now at least make it a little safer, but never ideal. It is always a temporary hook up of usually 2 to 4 day shows. Someone in the group has had to put their hand up and say 'I will'. That would be me then!!! I am going to use a 'star formation' of a 4 bar cable, to feed another 4, then another 4 cables. Still restricting each a run of 3 cables capped at 7 metres. This is acceptable at the venue. I am having to ask every member for their individual wattage ( everything is PAT tested ) to work out their total amperage. That is easy enough and I understand there is a limit to the wattage/amperage across the 3 cables. Each power socket supplied is 3KW and I have to make sure the 4 members plugging in do not exceed the total amperage across the 3 cables. Where I am struggling, is understanding why there is an amperage drop through each cable. The venue paperwork I have states that 1 cable extension should not exceed 12 amps. Where 2 cables are in the line, the total am