Discuss BS 7671 max surface temperature under fault condition ??? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Can anyone give me some clarification on the following.

I am installing some Osram Planon Plus led light panels into a temporary building and have been told the transformers need to housed in an enclosure as they do not have the correct markings for BS7671 "max surface temperature under fault condition".

Im a mechanical design engineer and not disagreeing with the request but want to understand the regulation and why these off the shelf units need additional enclosures in order to be used.

Many Thanks in advance.

421.1.2 Fixed electrical equipment shall be selected and erected such that its temperature in normal operation will not cause a fire. This shall be achieved by the construction of the equipment or by additional protective measures taken during erection.
The heat generated by electrical equipment shall not cause danger or harmful effects to adjacent fixed material or to material which may foreseeably be in proximity to such equipment.
Where fixed equipment may attain surface temperatures which could cause a fire hazard to adjacent materials, one or more of the following installation methods shall be adopted. The equipment shall:
(i) be mounted on a support which has low thermal conductance or within an enclosure which will withstand, with minimal risk of fire or harmful thermal effect, such temperatures as may be generated, or
(ii) be screened by materials of low thermal conductance which can withstand, with minimal risk of fire or harmful thermal effect, the heat emitted by the electrical equipment, or
(iii) be mounted so as to allow safe dissipation of heat and at a sufficient distance from adjacent material on which such temperatures could have deleterious effects. Any means of support shall be of low thermal conductance.