Discuss Cable Routing help required. in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

Richlizard

Hi all.

This is my first post for advice, so please take it easy on me. I am a recently qualified electrician on a completely new career change and have soon realised that qualifications mean nothing at all compared to the experience that no doubt you guys have built up over the years.

I am presented with a perfect opportunity as my friend has bought a house where the wiring leaves a lot to be desired. Another friend is dealing with the larger issues like changing the fuse board to a new consumer unit and I have taken on the role of what should be a simpler job of new light fittings and moving sockets around, etc.

I only had a quick 20 minutes to look around, but this is what I observed.

They currently have no light switch cables buried into the wall and sockets are a mixture of little mini double sockets and some so big you could house a hamster inside. Most rooms have spurs and homemade extensions made to look like it is part of the ring, but obviously not. So a lot of work to be carried out.

The first room they want done in a hurry is their lounge which has presented me with my first issue which I hope you can help with.

One side of the chimney breast they have this tiny double socket which they want moved to the other side of the chimney breast. This is on an external side wall...

2py9hq8.jpg

I don't know how the cable was routed, but as you can see there is a 'spur' cable running to the other side of the chimney breast. I doubt very much it was legit or safe how it is routed or even how it is wired direct into the socket, but on the other side of the chimney breast was this giant great ugly lump that I assume is just some kind of glorified extension lead??

2rr08wg.jpg