Discuss CCTV installation qualifications and license in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi,

Just a quick and maybe stupid question...but I'm a fully qualified electrician including 2391 etc but don't do much domestically and looking at doing CCTV domestically is there another qual or license needed for this?

Or is it 'competence' and part p and wiring regs cover it?

Cheers

no quals. needed. CCTV does not come under the scope of BS7671. the only overlap is when connecting such equipment into the mains.

as mentioned no qualifications required. but if doing ip or wireless camera systems then a good basic understanding of networking and ip addresses could be useful. If you stick with domestic no other things needed. but if you move over to public covering cctv, commercial or public sector they have been known to ask for dbs checks, was talk a while back that it could come under the SIA as the SIA already require licence to act as a cctv operator when it covers public spaces. Also make sure you are gdpr complaint especially if you keep remote access to systems for repairs or updates etc..
Where budgets allow I recommend HikVision there wireless kit is 2nd to none in my view

Training and qualifications are probably out there.
Mostly just running in cables and connecting up cameras.
Knowledge and understanding of the different systems available would be useful.

Reply to CCTV installation qualifications and license in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

Morning all, We are looking at qualification requirements for inspection and testing to BS EN 60204, all of our work is past the main isolator of...
Replies
Views
Hi everyone, I'm currently working towards getting qualified as an electrician and am hoping to get my foot in the door with an apprenticeship or...
Replies
Views