Discuss Change of career at 50. in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Whilst I work behind a desk I‘ve always been a practical hands on guy. I can decorate, tile, plaster, plumb, lay flooring.etc etc

Ive gain this knowledge through house renovations and maintenace of my property rentals

Ive always had one eye on the fact that my day job is a young mans game and hay ho at 50 I am now facing redundancy.

Last October I qualified to be a domestic electrician and have my level 2 and 3 and my 17th edition but I haven’t registered with an ECB.

I did these City and Guilds over 2/3 years of distance learning spaced by 6 weeks of onsite/classroom.

Because I did it without ever being “on the tools” I am in an uneasy situation.

I feel like you do when you first pass your driving test. Qualified and OK by yourself but to nervous to be a taxi driver, so to say.

My question is how best does the group thing I should get more experience and a portfolio for the ECB.

I could afford to work for free for a couple of months or be on minimum wage for 5 or 6 but eventually I do need to be earning proper money again.

Is this a stupid idea and can the group thing of a better one

Thanks

As with any new career you're going to be starting at the bottom - lugging stuff around, crawling around in lofts, pulling cables, chasing walls, sweeping up, making tea... All the heavy, unenviable and menial work, ie a 'young man's game'.

I'm struggling to see how sitting behind a desk can be a 'young man's game'; it's hardly reliant on physical ability and therefore non-age specific.

Perhaps you need to re-evaluate this with a fresh set of eyes.