Discuss Circuit protection advice in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

67ttamerya

Hi everyone - I am new to the forum , I'm hoping I have come to the correct place to post! I am not an electrician, I have reasonable electrical understanding and know how circuits like ring/radials work,how consumer units protect the circuit etc but little more.....

Recently our drying machine tripped the RCD on our consumer unit(17th edition). After leaving the dryer for a few days I tried it again. It was fine for a few cycles until we started hearing an occassional electrical bang coming from the dryer, but it was still operating. When I turned it off at the wall it again popped/banged. RCD did not trip. Later I turned it on at the wall( I know), the unit still has power and fuse in plug is not blown.

Dryer is now unplugged and out of use. Clearly there is an issue with the dryer but that is not really my question as we will either have it checked by an appliance technician or simply replace it if too costly.

What i am trying to understand is three things,

1. Why something like that could happen without tripping the RCD or blowing the fuse in the plug?
  2. Is there some sort of overheat or other protection built into dryers that could cause it to make a large electrical bang but not trip anything else? Otherwise how could an electrical disturbance as strong as a bang not cause a current fluctuation large enough not to trip the RCD?
  3. I would like to get a socket tester which can test the socket but also trips the RCD so i can see if the consumer unit will trip ( both RCD's trip when using the test button). Advice needed on which type/brand of socket tester is needed?

I look forward to any thoughts!