• IMPORTANT: Please note that nobody on this forum should be seeking from or providing advice to those who are not competent and / or trained and qualified in their field (local laws permitting). There is a discussion thread on this global industry-wide matter HERE. This also has more information about the warning with regards to sharing electrical advice in some countries. By using this forum you do so in agreement to this.

Discuss CIS Tax - Confused in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

B

brizospark

Just wondering if any of you self employed could help sort out my confusion over this one.

i am a sole trader and carry out a lot of work for builders, I am due a payment from a builder who says he will deduct 20% CIS tax, as I am aware of, and registered for.

I don;t understand how this works, firstly what if the case my bill is £1000 and I have spent £500 on materials. My profit is £500 here but I will only receive £800, therefore only actually getting £300 after materials paid and CIS paid. (£1000-20% = £800 - £500 materials = £300) Surely this cant be correct.

Secondly how does this work with self assessment, is it like this? Self assesment comes back that I owe them X amount lets say £5000, but I have already paid, lets say £2000 CIS. Does this automatically get calculated in self assessment as I owe them £300 instead of £5000?

Also, I have accounting software that tracks my bank feed and it is going to prove to be complicated to explain to this that although there is only £800 coming in that I have actually paid the £200 Tax.

Someone put me right with this!

when you do your s/a tax return, the £500 goes down on your expenses as materials supplied. the taxman will then credit you with the 20% you've had deducted. in theory.

Upvote 0