Discuss City and guilds course or jtl apprenticeship? Which one would be more suited for career in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

My name is Chris and I'm new to this site and the electrical world. I'm 26 and have started college (a bit late to the party) but after a lot of ups and downs with career paths I believe I'm making the right decision moving to being an electrician.

I'm doing L1 city and guilds electrical installations as I have no prior knowledge. One of the lads mentioned to me about JTL adult apprenticeships, I've been looking into it and not sure whether I should go for it. So many electricians on here state the importance of apprenticeships in comparison to classroom courses. I know I would learn the trade better from an apprenticeship rather than learning from books and mock scenarios.

From what I gather you need to be in full time employment before you're able to start the apprenticeship. That would mean not moving on to city and guilds level 2 or can you carry on the city and guilds quals? Also with no experience I will more than likely find it hard to get that employment.

Does anyone have any experience with jtl? or know what recognised quals you can get during the apprenticeships?

There so much information everywhere I don't know where to turn sometimes

If you did an apprenticeship you would still do the technical units at college but this would be 1 day a week or block release. Then the rest of the week/time you will be working for an employer and gathering site based evidence for your portfolio. Not sure about the adult apprenticeships but the 2357 and 5357 are 3 or 4 years.