Discuss claim my 2394 qualification through my 2357 apprentiship in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi there,
This is my first time posting on here.
I'm hoping somebody on here can help clear something up for me. I did my 2357 level 3 nvq apprentiship at leeds college of building. When they set out the course they told us that we would also gain our 2394 initial verification by changing some of the units. They said we would get a 2394 certificate at the end. I got my 2357 certificate through but no 2394 as yet. Did anyone else on here do the same and get there 2394?
Many thanks
Ryan

Welcome to the forum.

The description you give does not sound conducive to being able to obtain your 2394.

The 2357 apprenticeship is generally covering core skills and background knowledge of electrical installation in general, whilst it would cover the certification of electrical work this would not be in as detailed a manner as in the 2394.

The 2394 is a short course covering the initial verification of electrical installations in detail.

The units covered in the 2357 are not the same units as covered in the 2394.

Whilst it would be possible to also take on the 2394 within the context of the learning environment of the 2357, this would be a non standard approach and you would also have had to have taken the online assessment, written exam and assignment for the 2394. This may well have ahppened but you should have been aware of the tests you were taking and their intent.

I would probably advise you to check the paperwork detailing the course you attended and check if there is any reference to the acquisition of the 2394.

Hi Richard