Discuss Common grounding in audio cables? Theory suggests yes? in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi guys!

I am currently studying a BA (Hons) in Music Production, and I have decided to build a new stage box to go on stage, to route microphones cables and power supplies from the stage to the original inlets underneath the stage.

I would like to use a 19-pin Socapex cable to make the multicore, but here comes the predicament.

Microphone cables are designed with a +/- shielded by a ground cable on the inside. As I am not an electrician, I would like to ask opinions, and/or facts, on whether or not I could shield all 8 +/- terminals with a braided copper sleeve, and use it as a common ground?

As far as I am aware, when the microphones reach the mixing desks they all share an common internal ground within the desk, so my theory is to reduce pin soldering, while maintaining a suitable noise cancellation shield.

For any other information, please don't hesitate to ask! Thanks in advance for your generous responses!

The -ve is common when I have ever bothered checking.

How do you study for a BA with honours? I thought you studied for a BA degree and were awarded honours if you cut the mustard.

My degree in engineering was 2 years to get the B eng then another year to get the honours.

Hi LeeH!

I did a two year HND degree with a BA top up year, will need to look in to whether or not I will get the (Hons) with that. However this project I am struggling with is my Honours project.

using the shield as a common ground implies bonding it a both ends
therefore becoming a current carrying conductor and will induce current in any other conductors within close proximity.
this would give you unwanted feedback in the amplifiers