Discuss Confused ...IR readings in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
anyone shed some light?

100m run of 4mm nyy cable

New cable and getting 135meg ohm when testing surely this should be >999 on martindale mft

Checked cable and no damage(visual anyway)

I know it's well above minimum permitted but still

Sounds like damp or contamination.
It's the same give or take between all conductors ,would the reading of 135 be considered acceptable on a new installation cert? So for so many questions I'm fairly new to testing so these results threw me a bit and just filling cert out now

So you are testing this with the conductors at both ends free and nothing connected although strictly speaking the cpc should be connected to earth.

Not long just usually press test and within seconds it gives me reading it's the et4000 if that helps

If you carry out IR testing like that then you have to expect to get readings like this on long cables.
The cable forms a capacitor and you need to apply the test voltage for long enough to fully charge this capacitor, otherwise you will not be measuring the resistance of the insulation but will just get a slightly random number.

re-test the cable, but this time make sure you allow long enough to overcome the effect of the capacitance of the cable.

Don't forget to safely discharge the stored energy in the cable.

It can be worthwhile doing a longer test if a reading is not acceptable to you
Try doing the test for a minute or two to see if the value rises
There are a couple of reasons for doing so,I have copied and pasted some info for you

Capacitance: