Discuss consumer unit /renew back board in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
hi guys I need to replace the chipboard that my consumer unit is fixed to, is it safe to unscrew the plastic front cover and unscrew the consumer unit ,remove and re screw to a new ply back board (the unit is from wickes about 15 yrs old so it has the rcd things) I wont be touching the wires just replaceing the wood its fixed to ,I work in the construction industry but I'm only a groundworker ! but I do know a bit of basic stuff but any advice would be appreciated thanks colin

Does the CU have an isolator between the meter and the CU so you can isolate the CU?
Can you post a pic of the existing CU and it's surroundings.

I'd say you should be fine but whenever you have the cover off make sure the whole board is turned off, is there a separate main switch between the meter and board, if so it would make for a safer job for you.

hi guys I need to replace the chipboard that my consumer unit is fixed to, is it safe to unscrew the plastic front cover and unscrew the consumer unit ,remove and re screw to a new ply back board (the unit is from wickes about 15 yrs old so it has the rcd things) I wont be touching the wires just replaceing the wood its fixed to ,I work in the construction industry but I'm only a groundworker ! but I do know a bit of basic stuff but any advice would be appreciated thanks
put a pic on here of the whole board wood be nice!

Is that double socket mounted on the board you want to replace?
How do you intend to keep the CU in relative position while replacing the board?
Are you happy with putting a screwdriver into a CU that will still be live?