Discuss Cooker Hood Socket Outlet in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
I have been training part time as an electrician now for almost 2 years. I am considering re-wiring my kitchen and getting the work verified under a self certification scheme, not sure which company to use yet! I have been delving through the regs and am quite confident to under take the work on my own.

There is just one problem that I can't seem to figure out. In the regs, it states that the minimum height for socket outlets is 450mm and the maximum height being 1200mm. It would be ideal for me to have a double socket running from a fused spare to feed the cooker hood and the cabinet lights just above the wall cabinets.

This would be outside the permitted zones though. I have, however, seen this done in several properties. Whether they have complied with the regs or not, I am not sure. Could anyone on here offer me some sound advice. It would be much appreciated.

Hello mate, I think the part M heights refer to sockets for general use.
They only need to be adhered on new builds and full refurbs as far as I know, so prob not relevant to your kitchen.

Personally I'd put the cooker hood on a s/fcu and run the under counter lights from the lighting circuit.

I may have misunderstood, but why would it be outside the prescribed zones? Zones extend from any accessory. Daz

I may have misunderstood, but why would it be outside the prescribed zones? Zones extend from any accessory. Daz
Basically, I thought that any socket or switch needed to be at a minimum height of 450mm and a maximum height of 1200mm. In reference to your comment, do you know where I can find it in the regs? Regards.

Sorry, my mistake - I thought the second part of your query was about cables running outside prescribed zones. Daz