Discuss Cooker hood trips other circuits on fuse board: what's going on? in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi,
I am a newbie to this site, not an electrician but looking or advice. Please excuse any incorrect electrical language: I'll do my best to describe our strange electrical problem.

Sometimes when we are cooking, the fuses for downstairs & upstairs sockets (2 circuits) trip. It's when we use the hob and I'm pretty sure it's the cooker hood (as in the extractor fan) that is causing the problem. The other day a friend turned on the fan and the circuits tripped, without the hob being on. That said, there is a strange phenomenon whereby other kitchen appliances (hood, dishwasher, microwave) when switching on can cause the ignition to spark on the hob, so I feel something odd is going on with the hob too.

The kitchen was installed a year or two after we had the house mostly rewired, and the appliances and sockets in the kitchen have their own circuit. We have had three electricians look at these issues, all doing thorough testing, and none could come up with an answer. The sparking hob is just odd, the fan tripping independent circuits is more disturbing to me. In practice it's just a nuisance (losing internet connection because there's no power to the router, resetting the bedroom clock every time it trips), but I'm always nervous when there's an unexplained electrical issue. Why is an appliance tripping circuits that are totally independent?

Any thoughts, anyone?

First off, can you post a picture of the front of your consumer unit showing which fuses/breakers trip and when?

This may help as sometimes it's not a fuse, but another protective device.

Is it a circuit breaker that's tripping, or the RCD prior to all your cbs?

just consulting the tea leaves. might be a while as i don't drink tea, just beer.

First off, can you post a picture of the front of your consumer unit showing which fuses/breakers trip and when?