Discuss Costing of EIC & EICRs...... in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

T

Thomps

I have been asked to test my friends renovated property, fully rewired, and said i'd do it for £100. He is a qualified spark but i did check his 1st fix work to verify his workmanship and all seemed ok to me. It has if i remember - 3 rings, 2 lighting circuits, cooker, smoke alarms, 2nd small board which feeds outhouse which has ring and lighting too. The thing is he seemed narked off that i was charging him too much, i'm new to the game but i thought that was cheap! Anyway, what i'm after is a type of price you lot would normally charge so i can try and show him i'm not here to rip him off!

It has put me back a bit now in confidence as i had a chap who rents a few properties out and i mentioned i'd do some EICRs for him, but now i'm not sure what to quote him. They're all 2 up 2 down, basic 5 or 6 circuit properties. Was thinking £150 each but now i don't know weather it's too much or too little?!

Any advice would be appreicated.

Silly question but if he's a qualified spark why doesn't he do it himself?

The more that people agree to sign off other peoples work and break the law i might add, the longer we will not be valued as electricians and all be packing shelves for more money. carry on fella, might meet you down the job centre.

He is a competent spark but doesn't hold any testing qualifications, hold a registration with a competent persons scheme or have the equipment needed to do such testing.

£150.00 is the going price don't be afraid you got to belive to yorself ,good workmaship,fairness,etc dont' do it any less.