Discuss course soon hv switching in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

R

raymvv

hi folks, i am about to go on an HV switching course, as a bit of a warm up, i have been given a HV Switching schedue to write. Does anyone know where i can find some info online for this as i am very new to HV operations? as a headsup?

think this is right up tony's street. he'll probably be online later tonight.

I was going to offer to send some as examples. But I’ve just noticed this is your first post, sorry.

Pure chance, as is most of life.

OP, without editing the schedules they could be traced to my former employer. Had I known you from here then I wouldn’t have a problem with that, but I’m not breaking the confidentiality agreement by sending them to a stranger.

Done 4 HV/AP courses well 1 and 3 re certs. If this is your 1st course then you will be shown how to construct a switching schedule, different companies have differing ways although they will all be pretty much the same, they have probably given you a schedule to write to see how much you don't know about HV switch gear, How long is the course and who is it with? mine was all MOD at the training center ran by the PSA at RAF Cardington, sadly no more.

Looking at your profile you say you are an Engineer, what sort of Engineer? would that be something like a site Engineer on a large complex that has it's own HV system? the subject is to complex to advise you over the forum, my advice would be to go in cold, and assume you know nothing, start from scratch, oh not wanting to put a damper on things most of these courses are designed to certify you as an Authorised Person for your particular site, it's no a cake walk, plenty of exercises to do in the evening, either pass or fail.

Last edited: