Discuss Current Carrying Capacity of cables with different voltages in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

I

iamgary25

Does the current carrying capacity of cables change on what voltage your using??

2.5mm can carry 27a at 230v
would this be the same for 1000v
could someone please explaain this whole process please
Confused lol

Grant

p.s i'm a student :)

current capacity depends only on the cable csa, be it at 12V, 240V, or 24,000V. it's the power transmitted down the cable that increases with voltage. so, for example 5A @12V is ( 5 x 12 ) = 60watts, but 5A @240V is 1200watts.

ok so the insulation just needs the correct voltage rating, just like you'd do for selecting electrical equipment and the current is the exact same, just the power differs, so the high the voltage the less power you can use with it?

Current flow is a physical quantity of electrons flowing though the wire every second. If one amp is flowing down a wire then 6.25 billion billion electrons are flowing down it each second. The number of electrons flowing is what causes the wire to get warm and this is the limiting factor, the voltage pushing them along makes no difference to this. Wires are rated according to their temperature limits, their maximum current is that which causes them to get close to this temperature.

As pointed out the limiting factor with voltage is how good the insulation protecting the wire is.

The good old classical explanation there marvo ....il resist getting all quantum and correcting it as its good enough for the OP to get an understanding ;)

I was tempted though but your a super power now with an urge to test your abilities :30: