Discuss Disconnecting Internal Siren from Galaxy 2-20 Panel in the Security Alarms, Door Entry and CCTV (Public) area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all,

I wish to disconnect an internal alarm siren but I am not sure how to go about doing it. You will see from a previous post that i've dabbled with the alarm before. It belongs to my parents and to reassure you, I have my 17th Edition, Part P and 2392 Inspection and Testing, although I never registered because I am a full-time teacher. I just help out friends and family.

To allay worries about security, the internal siren is in the flat about my parents shop. We've lived here for the past 24 years but we're now moving out and tenants are moving in. Therefore we don't want them getting a rude awakening if and when the alarm goes off!

I've included a couple of pictures from the inside of the internal siren (sorry about the quality). I am aware of safe powering-down (including battery, external bellbox etc) but would appreciate it if someone could give me instructions on:

1. How to terminate the wires inside the siren, so that it doesn't ring when the alarm sounds.

2. Alternatively, the siren box is tamper proof, so if someone tries to open it, the alarm sounds. Is it possible to keep the tamper function but disconnect the siren please? This would be the best solution, as we'd know if and when any curious tenants try to open the siren casing!

Thank you in anticipation for your help.

Attachments

• Internal Siren.jpg
    101 KB · Views: 15
  • Internal Siren 2.jpg
    103.9 KB · Views: 21
just snip both red and yellow cables. one at a time and you won't even need to power down. i's only 12V d.c. then as pete said, stick ends in a choc block. keep separate.

Is relocating the panel in the shop not an option? That would be the best solution as then there would be no need to access the flat for future alarm issues.