Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. angel While you're here, would you mind checking out our Electrician's Insurance section to see if we could save you a few quid? - Specifically our Van Insurance Deals and Public Liability Insurance Deals. Thanks for supporting the forum! angel

5% Discount from Electrical2Go.co.uk for ALL members! - Click Here

Discuss DIY lighting in garage in the New Member Introductions area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. Super_resin

Super_resin EF Member

Hi,
    I am not a qualified electrician, but have been asked to install downlights in a garage by a family friend.
    There is currently a flouresent tube in there, which be used as the starting point for the series of lights.
    I just want to know as a non qualified electrician I can carry out this work as a diyer in someone else’s house, as I am not changing the circuit? Or would this need to be signed off?

2. Murdoch

Murdoch Electrician's Arms

Do you have any test equipment?

3. Strima

Strima Electrician's Arms

Walk away, anything goes wrong you will be liable no matter how good a friend you have.

• Agree Agree x 2
  4. Murdoch

But you are changing the circuit ........ its not a like for like unit swap.

• Agree Agree x 4
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
  5. Spoon

Spoon Trusted Advisor

You will have to give them a Minor Work Certificate for the install.
    As above, you are liable if anything goes wrong with the circuit, so if there is a fire due to the wiring then you pay for all the damages.

• Like Like x 2
  6. buzzlightyear

buzzlightyear still kicking sand, before pushing up daisies . Electrician's Arms

why do you think you can change the lighting in the garage .