Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement
  1. angel While you're here, would you mind checking out our Electrician's Insurance section to see if we could save you a few quid? - Specifically our Van Insurance Deals and Public Liability Insurance Deals. Thanks for supporting the forum! angel

Discuss Do I need to add RCD protection in the Electrical Forum area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. sparkymatt1987
    Offline

    sparkymatt1987 Guest

    Right, the situation is I'm changing some faulty 12volt transformers for some downlights in a kitchen. The lighting circuit is not RCD protected. Now, I know that the switch wires are buried in plaster less than 50mm from the surface. Because I've worked on this circuit and have to issue a minor works certificate. Do I HAVE to provide the RCD protection or is it something I note down in the details of departures from BS7671.

    Thanks
     
  2. mackers
    Offline

    mackers Guest

    no like for like replacement!
     
  3. rich.250
    Offline

    rich.250 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Cornwall
    Business Name:
    Rich Williams Electrical
    No mw cert needed for like for like replacements, notification or Rcd to be added. Anyone can undertake like for like replacements...... Apparently lol.
     
  4. sparkymatt1987
    Offline

    sparkymatt1987 Guest

    Ok, say the lighting circuit was to be added to. Would it be my responsibility to to change the MCB for an RCBO. If it was a ring circuit then I know this would have to be done but seen as its a lighting circuit I'm not 100%
     
  5. rich.250
    Offline

    rich.250 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Cornwall
    Business Name:
    Rich Williams Electrical
    Everything 'you' install has to comply with the latest bs7671.
    You don't have to bring the rest up to it.
     
  6. sparkymatt1987
    Offline

    sparkymatt1987 Guest

    So your saying I wouldn't add RCD protection unless I were to, say, bury a cable in capping. I would not the lack of RCD in the deviations
     
  7. telectrix
    Offline

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

    Top Poster Of Month

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    you could argue that the existing circuit has buried cable in a wall and as you have altered that circuit, the whole circuit should be RCD protected. i would only feel obliged to fit an RCD on a lighting circuit mod. if it was in a special location, e.g. bathroom.
     
  8. rich.250
    Offline

    rich.250 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Cornwall
    Business Name:
    Rich Williams Electrical
    Yeh as long as what you fit is up to scratch mate you'll be fine, can't go taking responsibility for previous sparks work from years ago....
    And bringing that up to scratch could take an age lol
     
  9. sparkymatt1987
    Offline

    sparkymatt1987 Guest

    Thank you for the advise. I have my napit assessment coming up next Friday and don't want the assessor to look at my certificates and fail me because I didnt add RCD protection. Thanks again
     
  10. Murdoch
    Offline

    Murdoch Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Woking
    Is a small job like changing downlights going to be a sufficiently "difficult" job for Napit to assess your competence? I'd say its maintenance which any tom, dick or harry, or indeed susan, could do
     
  11. telectrix
    Offline

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

    Top Poster Of Month

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    this job may not be for his assessment, just one where the assessor may pick it up from his certs.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. sparkymatt1987
    Offline

    sparkymatt1987 Guest

    It's not the job I will be assesed on sorry. I have a complete rewire to show the chap. It's just I'm told he will be looking through my previous test Certs and don't want him to see I've altered a circuit and the RCD type and trip times on the cert have n/a in them.
     
  13. telectrix
    Offline

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

    Top Poster Of Month

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    well, if he picks up on it, just tell him that the job was for a like 4 like fittings replacement and that if you had altered the circuit, you would have fitted RCD to cover cables buried in walls.. sorted.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - need protection Forum Date
Experience needed, new to the trade. Electricians Looking for Work / Jobs Yesterday at 11:35 PM
EICR Needed BB7 area....... Looking for Domestic Electricians? Yesterday at 7:46 AM
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Users found this page by searching for:

  1. do you need to fit a rcd to lighting circuit

    ,
  2. when do you need rcd protection

    ,
  3. do i need rcd

    ,
  4. should i fit a rcd to my lighting circuit
Electricians Directory Post a Domestic Job Post a Commercial Job