Discuss Dodgy shower installation in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am not an electrician myself but I am after some advice regarding an installation that was recently carried out at my elderly mothers house.

She has recently had a shower installed where there was one many years ago, the pipe work was still usable but no one could find where the old (dead) wiring ran to.

The installer has run a new cable on the surface to the new shower unit and has manually cut the casing to allow entry into the top, the job is far from neat!

My other concerns are about the close proximity of the shower and some existing electrics that were installed in the time after this area was last used as a shower (it has been a cupboard for 12 years).

I would like to hear other peoples opinions on all of this while I decide what should be done about it all.

Thanks in advance.

IMG_20180226_143329_515.JPG

IMG_20180226_143252_923.JPG

IMG_20180226_143219_311.jpg

Did an electrician do this?
Was your mother given an 'electrical installation certificate' for the work?
What did the quote say?

Quite frankly cutting a hole in the top of what is a waterproof casing is beyond stupid!

As for the other electrical items, they are within arms reach from with the 'shower cubicle'. If my interpretation of the regulations is correct that's considered as Zone 2 and they shouldn't be there.

Whoever did this is a complete chancer and before it is used for it's intended purpose, it should be reworked by someone who actually knows what they are doing and who understands the basics of fluid dynamics.

Thanks all for your replies.

I am lead to believe that the guy is a qualified electrician but I doubt there is any paperwork relating to the install!