Discuss Does a non-maintained emergency need a key switch in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi hope someone can help. A friend of mine (a builder) has asked me because I used to be an electrician (im not working in the trade anymore) if a non maintained emergency light in a small shop has to have a key switch (as per regulations). I realise the benefits of having a key switch but is it necessary. Thanks

Re: Does a non-maintained emergecy need a key switch

In a word, yes. This is for monthly, quarterly and annual testing of the battery & lamp.

In a word, yes. This is for monthly, quarterly and annual testing of the battery & lamp.

Can the test not be carried out by switching off the lighting breaker ? The shop only as one room and a toilet room so there would be no issues switching off the entire lighting circuit to perform a test. Is a key switch essential s this situation ?

The annual test is a minimum of 2 hours and you will be putting the shop into darkness, that is why we use key switches to isolate power to the EM so not effecting any other circuit. Also useful for maintenance/repair and replacement of the EM. Easy to install and it is just the correct thing to do imho.

The annual test is a minimum of 2 hours and you will be putting the shop into darkness, that is why we use key switches to isolate power to the EM so not effecting any other circuit. Also useful for maintenance/repair and replacement of the EM. Easy to install and it is just the correct thing to do imho.

That's a good point, I overlooked that !

However, I dont think there is a requirement for the key switch, it can be turned off if necessary at the CB.
Of course, that isnt the best way, but, it complies AFAIAA.