Discuss Domestic consumer upgrades in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi I’m a commercial electrician and don’t do much domestic work and was just looking for some advice on pricing consumer unit upgrades. I’m vat registered and have been told about people charging £495 plus vat for dual rcd board and £795 plus vat for RCBOs

Hi I’m a commercial electrician and don’t do much domestic work and was just looking for some advice on pricing consumer unit upgrades. I’m vat registered and have been told about people charging £495 plus vat for dual rcd board and £795 plus vat for RCBOs
What's a Commercial Electrician?

o not really an electrician then? Just someone who can't do Domestic or Industrial electrical installations, or am I wrong? You are either an electrician or you are not.
Understandable, so what sort of electrician do you class yourself as Westy, Domestic, Commercial or industrial, or an electrician full stop.

Last edited:
Not sure how you've reached a conclusion about the OP's skills or competence from what has been posted, but it's hardly relevant to the thread.
"I am a Commercial Electrician"

o not really an electrician then? Just someone who can't do Domestic or Industrial electrical installations, or am I wrong? You are either an electrician or you are not.
Domestic consumer upgrades {filename} | ElectriciansForums.net

What you got to factor in here is that the customer will be paying your vat, so thats an immediate cross next to your name. you will be competing against dangerous dave from the pub who moonlights as a 'electrician' and offers no guarantee, testing or paperwork.
Also need to factor in that sometimes its not safe for the seal fairies to pull the fuse either so customer has to pay for the dno if there is no isolator.