Discuss Domestic Fuse board change politics in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello Guys

I am a commercial electrician and before we change old consumer units we always carry out an EICR as the clients have money on the commercial side of things, domestics however not so much.

on the domestic front i looked a shoddy HMO for a landlord today and they dont want to pay for a report before we change the DB.

I understand the obvious quick bond an insulation resistance checks you can carry out but your going to have to give an install cert after and you may find all kinds of crap, for example o had 0.15Mohms LN-E which could be anything.

basically without knowing what your hooking the new DB up to how do you advise the client on costs when the fixed wiring also needs to be signed off and on face value looks crap?

Hello Guys

I am a commercial electrician and before we change old consumer units we always carry out an EICR as the clients have money on the commercial side of things, domestics however not so much.

on the domestic front i looked a shoddy HMO for a landlord today and they dont want to pay for a report before we change the DB.

I understand the obvious quick bond an insulation resistance checks you can carry out but your going to have to give an install cert after and you may find all kinds of crap, for example o had 0.15Mohms LN-E which could be anything.

basically without knowing what your hooking the new DB up to how do you advise the client on costs when the fixed wiring also needs to be signed off and on face value looks crap?
If the Landlord wont pay for repairs, it's your neck on the line.

ALL my estimates for replacing fuseboards include this:

"NB: If problems are detected during the fuseboard change additional work may be required. Such issues and associated costs will be discussed with you, prior to being implemented"