Discuss Domestic lighting issue? in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

M

macka09

Hi guys, I'm not an electrician but after some advice please. I've replaced a few light fittings today but have hit a stumbling block. The kitchen lights existing wiring has 3 main wires going to it, but one of the black wires has been snipped. So I'm left with 3 red, 3 earth and 2 black. Is there anything I could do to rectify?

Make sure it is isolated then connect it up exactly as it was before you took it apart.

Call an electrician on Monday and get them to sort it out.

Electricity kills in a fraction of a second, don't risk your life or the life of your family for the sake of a call out charge.

Ok thanks. It's isolated. I removed the old light weeks ago but didn't notice the wire was cut as I only only disconnected via the block.

So your kitchen light is on its own circuit. Very unusual

He said he removed it from blocks, so if we're being nice, he could have only isolated it again so he could finally reinstate the kitchen light, after "weeks" without it. He evidently doesn't live with a woman.

Evidently I'm not living there. The house is being readied for us to move in lol. So I isolated the whole of the downstairs lighting as no one is living there.

Domestic lighting issue? {filename} | ElectriciansForums.net

That's what's in the kitchen. Photo taken without the block put on.

I could take a look. I have asked a sparky to come and look at it. I tend not to do much with electrics apart from the very basics. I assume you have noticed the black wire (neutral) is missing? Why would they do that? As previously mentioned the old strip light worked before!