• IMPORTANT: Please note that nobody on this forum should be seeking from or providing advice to those who are not competent and / or trained and qualified in their field (local laws permitting). There is a discussion thread on this global industry-wide matter HERE. This also has more information about the warning with regards to sharing electrical advice in some countries. By using this forum you do so in agreement to this.

Discuss Domestic Shed Installation in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

LGRSol

-
Reaction score
Hi All,

Having recently qualified as an electrician, I am beginning to understand the adhocs and curveballs that customers can throw at you.

Last week I went to quote for a shed installation. The shed is approximately 25m from the property and would be a relatively straight forward notifiable job i.e. SWA buried to a safe depth (500mm), 2 way DB in shed for 1 way lighting and ring final sockets.

Now in my limited experience, as far as I am concerned the install would be directly to the main DB and either protected by a 30mA RCD or alternativly using an RCBO. However the customer has said that they really want the source to be from a fused spur out of the ring final circuit in the garage.

Obviously I am fully aware of the regs and in particular 5.7 of Part P. As far as I am concerned, this is an absolute no go, however I am struggling to find if this is stated anywhere in the wiring regs. Before I say this to the customer please could I have some advice / thoughts.

Much appreciated,
Lee

the customer can have the shed supply from the ring if he wants.however, he will be limited to the 13A FCU as to load. far better to take feed from DB, fused appropriately. SWA will not require RCD protection ( unless TT).