Discuss Domestic Wiring Problems - Advice Needed Please! in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

B

billyh42

Hi

First of all I am not an electrician!

When using power tools recently I have been getting shocks from almost everything!

I bought a small 3 pin 240v plug-in tester to attempt to see if this would show that there was no earth!

What this did show was that I have reverse polarity. Further investigation at the consumer unit with a meter confirmed that the supply going into the consumer unit is in fact reversed.

Meter readings are 0v between live and earth, 238v between neutral and earth & 238v between live and neutral.

Speaking to an electrician at work about the shocks (before I knew about the reverse polarity), he said that it wouldn't do any harm to add an earth rod and connect it back to an earth on a socket and see if that made any difference. I have done this and so far I have not had any further shocks. However the earth rod seems to get very hot. Is this normal or an indication of another fault. Could it be that the cable I have connected it to the socket with isn't thick enough and the heat is due to high resistance?

Going back to the reverse polarity, is this a simple matter of having my supplier, Scottish Power, reverse the connections into the consumer unit? Wiring appears to be supply-main fuse-meter-consumer unit. I cannot see any sign of an earth coming in from outside.

Is this dangerous? Does this mean that any fuses will be innefective as they are all connected in the live circuit? Is Scottish Power responsible for correcting this or can any electrician do this?

Finally is there a simple laymans test to check earthing?

Any advice appreciated!

This is one of those times where I have to say get an electrician in. These problems need to be addressed by a professional that can inspect and test to locate all the problems and rectify them. Not something that you should be poking around with.