Discuss Door bell transformer advise in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Muks

-
Reaction score
hi, I’m new to the forum. I’m an engineer but don’t have electrical qualifications and need some advise on if I need a certified electrician to fit a door bell transformer.

I presently have a mains wired door bell with an integrated transformer which takes mains power supplied by what looks like my lighting circuit and converts to 12v. There is no separate CU bell transformer.

I have bought a new ring door bell which requires a 24v supply. The unit comes with a 24v transformer intended to be fitted to the consumer unit on a din rail. Given I don’t have a bell transformer / specific circuit in the Consumer Unit, I figure to just remove the existing mains powered door bell on my wall and replace it with a small din rail enclosure and supply it from the exisiting lighting circuit.

Does that sound normal? Also can anyone advise if that’s a job I can do myself as a competent person or does it need a certified electrician?

Many thanks for any advise and your patience.
Muks

Practical as against theoretical... There are enhanced hazards in going into the din rail of a consumer unit and particular methods of isolation and safety which you may not be aware of. Not knowing anything about you I would err on the side of caution and advise you not to go poking about in the consumer unit. Can you not get another bell that you can just wire the transformer on to the existing cabling (after having safely isolated) thereby keeping things much simpler? Or get a 12v bell.

Yes, you can put the Ring transformer in small DIN enclosure.

This is probably the simplest option assuming you don't mind having that visible on the wall.

I’d charge you about £40 to fit this, if you connect the new push it wouldn’t take an electrician 30 minutes to do this job. Saves you the heartache and danger of messing about in the CU.