Discuss Doorbell Wiring - Ring Pro and Honeywell in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi All

Apologies if this is not in the right forum or if I've joined the forum when I'm not supposed to as I'm not an electrician just an avid tinkerer.

With that said. I'm planning to wire in a new doorbell system. I ripped out the old wired system and switched to wireless which was less than an optimal solution. For that reason I'm planning to go back to a wired system and if possible upgrade to a ring pro system.

The new system will be based on the Honeywell DW915s wired and wireless chime thing which I believe is a wired chime which doubles up as a wireless extender which allows another compatible chime to be paired to it. (Please correct me if I'm wrong). The initial plan is to use this chime as a wired chime, powered via the batteries so it will be wired direct to the bell push. The reason being was firstly that's what the old system was like and secondly to wire it to the main would likely require a new consumer unit because the old one is the old style wire fuse type which I will be updating at some point but not any time soon.

The problem with this initial plan is that the run of cable from the bell push to the position I want the chime to be placed is about 30m, accounting for tidying the cable into the edges etc. From my research online 0.5mm bell wire seems to be inappropriate for this kind of distance and impact performance. Having looked online, I can't seem to find thicker solid 2 core wire, everything seems to be stranded cores. The solution I've come across is to use 1mm 2 core FP200 fire alarm cable which is 4x times the price of bell wire and also has an earth core which would be redundant. What could I do to solve this issue.