Discuss Earth Fault Indicator tripped twice... in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

I

InquisitiveA

Hi,

I'm not an electrician and my experience is limited to re-wiring a few light fittings.

I recently fitted a new light fitting to the downstairs front room and at the same time fitted a new dimmer switch. Both seem to work fine. Shortly afterwards the earth fault indicator in the fuse box tripped, it did so when the previously mentioned light was switched off and wasn't being touched and it tripped at the point I was switching on another light in the downstairs bathroom. It worried me a bit but the EFI allowed me to switch it back on and all was fine for 48 hours.

Last night, when all lights were off and nothing was being touched, the EFI tripped again. Again it has allowed me to reset it this morning, but having happened twice I'm concerned that it isn't just a random coincidence.

What can I deduce from the above do you think? Does the EFI tripping in the middle of the night when no lights are on help diagnose the problem? What about tripping previously when I turned on a light that isn't the one I fitted? Should I start my investigation at the new light/switch, or the light I was switching on when it first tripped, or somewhere else?

Appreciate your help.

Well, without wishing to sound smart I think you'll need a spark to help you. The changing of the lights may or may not be related - the fact that the RCD tripping when the lights aren't on may or may not be relevant. The next thing you should do is unplug as much as feasible to see if its an appliance causing it. Failing that I'd recommend calling a spark in - where are you located?

as murdoch says. without test gear, it's guesswork. it could be anything from a faulty fridge to a duff RCD (EFI, as you call it), to a wiring fault.

Thanks for the replies. I'm based in Bristol.