Discuss Earth fault - potential on exposed conductive part in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
As can be seen from my profile I am not a qualified electrician but I'm studying in my own time just for the sake of it. I understand the principals of earthing and bonding but in this video by GSH Electrical....

.....at 2:10 minutes in he says exposed conductive parts under earth fault would have "up to 50 V appearing"....can someone explain how he gets 50 V please .....I'd have thought it'd be instantaneously 240 V before ADS

Or, phrased another way, ADS is designed so that any fault that could create a potential of 50V or more between exposed conductive parts, must cause a protective device to operate. The 50V is a designed-in limit.

Just for fun - check out 3:50 where chap states the limit for bonding conductor resistance is 0.05 Ohms. As far as I'm aware this is not so - it's an indicator of a good connection rather than a hard limit (from GN3 p38). So there is no need to exceed the sizing requirements in BS7671. What do you think ?

Just for fun - check out 3:50 where chap states the limit for bonding conductor resistance is 0.05 Ohms. As far as I'm aware this is not so - it's an indicator of a good connection rather than a hard limit (from GN3 p38). So there is no need to exceed the sizing requirements in BS7671. What do you think ?
You are correct wilko.
It’s a figure that many take to be gospel yet they quote GN3 which has neve actually said this.
In fact the latest GN3 18th edition version actually goes onto say that a 0.05 ohms reading is not from the MET to the pipework or bonding conductor in question

Thank you all for your replies, you pointed me in the right direction and I found this....

"The maximum value is R = 50/Ia. Where Ia is the operating current for the protective device in 5 seconds. Ref. 413 - 02 -28. GN3 recommends less than 0.05 ohms."..