Discuss Earth In a MK Masterseal light switch....?? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

Just a quick question to get a general consensus on this. I'm an adult apprentice by the way.

Recently I did small installation in a small substation (literally a 2m square hut) I wired it in plastic trunking/conduit and singles. so no access by joe public, and thus under control of a competent person at all times.

At the door I used a MK masterseal for the light switch, and since the light was closer to the fuse box than the switch, I only ran the neutral an earth to the light and then the lives to the switch.
My thinking was not to run another earth to the masterseal switch as it is fully plastic with no extraneous conductive parts. and thus just wasting cable to take an earth to a terminal on a plastic backbox.
But the guy in the company that checked over my work and did the testing completely slated me for not running an earth to the switch.
His argument being If it was ever changed, there would be no earth at the point. fair enough, but as it is wired in trunking would it be hard to run in an earth?? No.

Anyway, I was just wondering if you guys would run an earth in this situation?

(I did after he wasn't happy and at the end of the day he's the gaffer)

As others have stated above, on the CPC issue...

Though this guy had no right to ''completely slate you'', For a start you should have been under a fully qualified electricians supervision, not working on your own, especially when working in a substation!!!

At the door I used a MK masterseal for the light switch, and since the light was closer to the fuse box than the switch, I only ran the neutral an earth to the light and then the lives to the switch.

So you didn't connect the small neon lamp on Masterseal switches (or whatever they use these days) either then??

Last edited by a moderator: