Discuss ECS Craft Card Application (JIB) in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi to all,

Looking to open some extra doors for myself in the near future. I have heard through various people a 'Gold JIB' card could be beneficial to hold.

I work as a commercial spark in a maintenance role. I have been time-served and working in this role for 3 years.

I hold;

• NVQ Level 3 (Electrical Maintenance)
  • Advanced Apprenticeship in Electrical Maintenance Engineering
  • 17th Edition (3rd Amendment)
  • C&G 2394 (Initial Verification)

Reading through the ECS site it is obvious I will need to sit and pass an 'ECS Health and Safety Assessment' to add to my current qualifications. I previously held 'iOSH Working Safely' and 'ECITB CCNSG' cards, unfortunately both have expired as I did not require them for my current role.

I have 3 questions which I would appreciate any pointers on please :smile:

1. I am looking to gain the 2395 (Periodic I&T) very soon, would it make sense to wait until I have this additional qualification before applying for a card?
  2. Reading the ECS site there is mention of company references, as I am looking to gain possible future opportunities from this card application I do not believe my current company would be best pleased and I have not worked for another company. So are company references essential?
  3. Is AM2 essential?

Apologies if this is in the wrong section and appreciate any feedback,

Thank you.

Hi to all,

Looking to open some extra doors for myself in the near future. I have heard through various people a 'Gold JIB' card could be beneficial to hold.

I work as a commercial spark in a maintenance role. I have been time-served and working in this role for 3 years.

I hold;

• NVQ Level 3 (Electrical Maintenance)
  • Advanced Apprenticeship in Electrical Maintenance Engineering
  • 17th Edition (3rd Amendment)
  • C&G 2394 (Initial Verification)