Discuss EICR Help required from some of you testing experts. in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

Soulsurfer

-
Arms
Reaction score
Please help, I'm still new to testing for myself and sometimes I wonder if my new Megger is being naughty on purpose as my Fluke wasn't as prone to throwing up weird results as my Megger.

So a mate has been doing very small works on a property and as he's there he finds pd's tripping on other circuits and strange faults so got a bit of a wobble and asked me to go do an eicr on the premises so agreed 50% sample with the owner.

I have had a good few hours on site today and not gotten very far due to the state the board was in, lack of correct labelling and so on...

Advice I'm looking for is I found a 2 gang dimmer hanging off wall which subsequently found is fed from a 32A ring and through a fused spur at 13A before ending feeding the said switch ! One dimmer is switching a load of LED downlights inside, other is a dummy dimmer / ordinary push on /off switch covering ground lights along outside wall which seem to be full of water droplets / condensation ! the suspected switch line to the out lights was discon in back of box, reconnected and switched all on, 10 seconds then bang and the back of the dummy dimmer was black as .... no 1362 fuse blown in spur and no rcbo tripped but switch was shafted cannot believe rcbo didn't trip ?? thinking must be shorted light fittings out there.

Next issue is on downstairs sockets, tests r1,rn, fine but r2 relationship 2.5/1.5 ratio is way off ! r1 0.44, rn 0.44, r2 16.8 kOhms !! wtf ?
Thinking nasty connection on cpc somewhere anyone seen similar before ripping apart the circuit.

R1+R2 was o.k. though.
IR was a real pain as the meter did not want to know: @500V L-E max was 1.01 Meg
N-E was 0.36 Meg !
But sure every single thing was unplugged.
Also when tested at 250V the readings all came out approx 25 Meg ! ??