Discuss electric oven rcd tripping in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

jme

-
Reaction score
Evening guys. Just bought a second hand full electric oven from a second hand shop and wired it in myself. Im not an electrician but i did it at college for two years and spent two years on site as a mate...

The circuit is 32a rcd protected and wired in 6mm twin and earth throughout the circuit. I wired from the circuit to the oven in 6mm twin and earth.

The site has a silly policy of not honouring a warranty unless installed by a qualified electrician and now they are asking for paperwork to prove it was done like this. As far as im concerned....you get no paperwork off a sparky for them fitting an electric cooker...as that falls into when they fit new corcuits etc.

Anyway the problem is that the hobs work but as soon as the oven is switched on the rcd will trip. Ive recorded a video of this and tezt my old electrician boss to ask him if any paperwork can be given for an installation like this??

Otherwise any ideas how to get the money back or what may be wrong on the cooker? Hobs work fine. Had all four on at once but oven trips immediately which suggests a conponent in the oven is faulty.

They admitted on the phone that they dont test these before they buy them as they are not electricians....

Surely if the hobs work then the oven should...

Any help is appreciated thankyou

Is it worth taking it off the rcd protected circuits at the board just to see if it works for now.... or just just replacing something that may be at fault such as a heating element?

My missus has a one year old girl and we just moved in somewhere. This seems very unfair

post your location. i'm sure one of us will be close to help out.