Discuss Electrical connection to shed in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

ranger

-
Reaction score
This is possibly quite simple. I am not an electrician but am good at digging holes, I need electric running to my shed so I can put a freezer in it, how deep should the trench be (I am guessing 2 spits depth) so I can cut the most labour intensive part of the job as much as possible.

Everything else will be left to the electrician as my knowledge is rudimentary at best!

Depends where you are installing it if under a driveway, path or flower bed.

Two spades depth is reasonable when considering someone digging for their spuds,underneath a driveway where vehicles may pass would need to be protected against things like the crushing effect

As stated above,different requirements are needed for different conditions,there is no set advise
Its not just a trench,a layer of sand to stop stones puncturing the armouring and warning tape above the cable layer

All the above is right but I always ask for a 500mm trench to be dug I'll do the rest

I helped dig one 65m long last year, by hand, I still whinge about it as you can see. Now I am very happy to have owner dig to my spec :) .

Reply to Electrical connection to shed in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

Hi, I'm a DIY'er looking to build a 6x8 shed in my backyard in Colorado. I'm installing a gravel pad first, with 4 concrete Sonotube...
Replies
Views
I've wired some cable to a small 3x3 shed with 2 gpos, a 15a GPO, and a light. The shed is about 2m away from the house on a concrete slab. The...
Replies
Views
I am interested in having a home generator that would provide power to my home when the power is out during hurricane season, etc. I have 2...
Replies
Views
Hi guys, I have recently encountered that my circuit breaker for the upstairs lights keeps tripping. I flick it back on and immediately it trips...
Replies
Views