Discuss Electrician quote for materials in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hello there, this is my first post, I am not an electrician but I wondered if anyone could help me out with a quote I have been given.

The electrician was recommended by our builder and I just wondered if his quote was accurate. I've looked myself at the same materials and they are half the price - but other than the downlighter they are the same brands etc as he said he would be installing (so not cheap stuff that's going to break).

I've priced it at 50% less than the electricians quote for materials. The one thing I can't price up is the cabling and I imagine there is way more cable used that I would have initially thought.

Before I ask the electrician about the price and potentially ---- him off, I just wondered if it was possible that the wire could come to £400? It's a standard 3 bed semi, on the 1st floor the lighting ring and sockets need rewiring and a new (large, 9m x 5m) loft needs to be wired.

Thanks

looks as if that materials quote is OTT. have you any individual prices he's quoted for sockets, etc.? £400 for cable would do a whole house.

Seems a bit OTT to be honest, is he a Spark, or a bloke from the Pub? ask him for his CPS details (NICEIC or similar) see what the response is before you commit to anything, as well as getting quotes from other Electricians, if he is in cahoots with the builder, it could be his mate and a con is in progress, I hasten to add the words "it could be" could well be a genuine quote but get a couple more for comparison.

Hi Hayley and welcome to the Forum.
It's normal to add something to the cost of items, to cover the time taken to order, collect and provide you with warranty. But it does sound high so perhaps seek a 2nd quote?