Discuss Electrics Inspection - Does This Exist? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

L

LCV

Hi,

I recently had my house renovated which included new plumbing and rewiring of the house. I had a letter come through from Gas Safe asking if I wanted to nominate my house for a free gas inspection following the work completed by the Plumber.

Is there such a scheme/body to inspect the Electrics? The Electrician is part of the Builder's team. My contract for the house renovation is with the builder. Towards the end of the renovation I discovered that the Electrician is not qualified. He said he is self-taught. I don't know whether to be concerned or not about this.

Thanks for your views.

No there is nothing I know of in the way of free electrical testing. It is usually more involved than gas testing requiring more man hours and thus is more expensive.

A rewire of a house requires an electrical installation certificate completed and signed by the installer, and a building control notification certificate, often known as a part P certificate.

If an electrician is to notify work to building control that usually requires being in a government approved scheme of some sort. If this is not the case and certificates are not going to be forthcoming then I would suggest all payments to the builder cease until a solution is found.

The builder has given me the Part P (NICEIC) certificate. I can't tell if the Electrician is one of the people who signed the certificate because it only states the surname and I don't know his surname.

Actually it says on the certificate that I should have the electrics inspected and tested within 5 years. So this is a service that Electricians offer? How long does this type of inspection take and how much should I budget for it? I live in a 4 bed house over 4 floors in London.