Discuss Energy saving plug idea question in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

N

Nick

Hello,

Just a thought but when a plug is plugged into a mains outlet, say for example a phone charger, is there a way to somehow do something to the plug so it doesn't sap any energy when plugged in but not connected to the phone so it can stay plugged in all the time without usong any electricity?

I mean im a bit surpised no one has come up woth a ug that does this and im.not sure of it is even possible as im not an electrician.

If it was you could pattern then sell the idea to a big company for alot of money couldnt you?

No. My question is a matter of convenience as people tend to leave phone chargers plugged into the mains all the time as they have to use it regularly to charge thier phones.

So it would be great if ypu could leave the charger plugged in but it not use any power when it isnt plugged into the phone if ypu follow?

Is there something one could do to the plug. Perhaps install something?

Surely tjis needs to be invented!

How about plugging in all the chargers into an extension lead that has individual switches for each outlet, so you can switch them off when not in use..

I think if someone was concerned enough about wasting a negligible amount of electricity to spend money on a dedicated gadget then they'd be happy to switch the socket on to charge their phone then switch it off again afterwards.

Personally I charge my phones using a USB socket on my computer. There's probably electricity there when I don't need it, I don't know, but I'm not going to lose any sleep over it.

I got a portable solar charger for my phone. No cost electricity.
My kid used it on her phone... then I tried it.
My wife remarked it wasn't working on my phone.