Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Discuss Estate Agents says Fit For Purpose in the DIY Electrical Forum area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. S Hughes
    Offline

    S Hughes EF Member

    Location:
    Belfast
    I have no idea if I am in the right place but am in desperate need of advice. I would describe myself as a competent DIYer (installed a Scantronic alarm system last week) but when it comes to electrics I let the experts handle it.
    We have just started renting a house which is just full of surprises ceiling lights positioned just above the windows IMG_20190313_182324.jpg in the house to a horrendous fire in almost the centre of the living room IMG_20190313_182347.jpg .
    Having outfitted the bare garage with all my tools I decided to power on the 25l air compressor. I plugged it into the only socket in the garage IMG_20190306_112039.jpg and it blew. No fuse, plug change or any amount of mouth to mouth would bring this faithful workhorse back to life. So I bought another air compressor and sent an email to the estate agent (acting on behalf of landlord) saying what had happened and asking can they look at electrics. They send out some guy a week later who arrives and goes straight into the garage without even letting me know he is there. I show him the old CU where nothing is labelled IMG_20190313_181914.jpg and he spends the next 15 minutes trying to work out which is the garage circuit. It turns out the garage is connected to a circuit in the house (didn't say which). I explained the new air compressor requires a 16amp socket and he talks to me as if he will inform the landlord that the garage should be upgraded to make it safe and useable. I mean who heard of a garage with only one socket? I love tinkering and renovating so need the air compressor for my air tools. My 12 year old son has taken an interest in renovating too (anything to get him off the playstation) and the AC is essential.
    A short time later I get an email from the estate agents/landlord saying
    The electrician has been in contact to confirm that he has checked the power socket in the garage and it is working appropriately and is fit for purpose.
    Not exactly what I wanted to hear -
    So my question is - Is this garage fit for purpose? If the garage is only for sheltering a car then I guess yes it is. But I look at todays specifications on power to a garage and this one falls woefully short.
    It has destroyed my air compressor. I can't plug in the new one. The radio just about works. Does a garage need to have it's own RCD? Should a garage (even on an old CU) have it's own circuit? Should there at least be a fused spur or CU running to the detached garage?
    Any help or advice would be appreciated as I feel totally helpless what to do next or what to say to the landlord. If I am in the wrong place politely tell me to sling my hook and point me in the right direction. Many thanks
     
  2. chris gray
    Offline

    chris gray Electrician's Arms

    Your compressor requires a 16A socket and you plugged it into a 13A socket and it overloaded and activated he ocpd? The electrician is right in my opinion
     
    • Agree Agree x 5
    • Like Like x 2
  3. Jim_e_Jib
    Online

    Jim_e_Jib Regular EF Member

    Location:
    Devon
    I would think that if you require a 16amp socket it would be with the agreement of the landlord and at your expense.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  4. snowhead
    Offline

    snowhead Respected Member

    Location:
    Mildlands
    Lights over windows were standard up to the early 70's.

    A single 13amp socket in a garage has been the norm for years, no power at all was quite common before that.

    The electrics hasn't killed your compressor, it has killed the electrics.

    The fire is a bit odd but did you view the house before signing and notice it?
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
  5. GeorgeCooke
    Offline

    GeorgeCooke Regular EF Member

    Location:
    UK
    Lights by the windows are typical in 30's houses, unless upgraded. Garages with one socket are not unusual, many garages don't have any.

    Why do you think your original air compressor is faulty? Certainly an underrated supply would not destroy it. It is stupid and a waste of money to replace something when you have no idea if it is faulty.

    Why did you buy a new compressor that requires a 16 amp supply when you only have 13 amp sockets? Are you expecting the landlord to upgrade your supply to accommodate your non standard appliance?

    Yes your garage is fit for purpose, for storing your car. It even has a socket for a battery charger.

    All circuits should be on a RCD but there is no reason (apart from convenience) a garage should have a dedicated one. A garage with a single socket could be just a spur off the house ring. It usually is not done that way but there is no reason not to (again apart from convenience).
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. casperLennon
    Online

    casperLennon Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    derby
    Business Name:
    Raylex electrical
    What a very odd thread
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  7. westward10
    Online

    westward10 In echoed steps I walk across an empty dream. Staff Member Moderator

    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Courtesy lights to prevent silhouettes through the curtains.
     
    • Agree Agree x 6
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  8. snowhead
    Offline

    snowhead Respected Member

    Location:
    Mildlands
     
    • Like Like x 4
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. Vortigern
    Offline

    Vortigern Regular EF Member

    Location:
    England
    Business Name:
    F.H. Electrical
    Caveat emptor applies I am afraid. It is up to you when buying or renting a property to ensure it will meet your purposes. Once rented there is nothing you can do to demand change on what was already there when you viewed it.
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
  10. S Hughes
    Offline

    S Hughes EF Member

    Location:
    Belfast
    I don't know what to say. Some of you were nasty calling me stupid and others didn't read the thread at all.
    Thank you for explaining why there is a light at the front of the window but I was merely pointing out the house was odd in so many ways to me. I noticed no one could come up with why there is a fire in the centre of the living room smart asses.

    And did anyone notice the band aid on the socket? It seems you are quite happy to have a go at someone who is not an electrician looking for advice but not one of you offered anything useful or what could be done to allow me to run a 16amp air compressor.

    And to answer your questions - NO I didn't put a 16amp AC into a 13amp plug. The original AC was just 25l and ran off a 13amp as it was supposed to. It ran quite happily in my previous garage
    Oakdale Oct 18 (24).JPG which had a CU in it. There were over 10 sockets in this garage which ran a bank of servers.
    I was asking should not a CU be labelled as to what room or circuit (lights/sockets) etc. Is that not required now for safety reasons?

    As I said yes I know the garage is fit for purpose if it is just to house one car but garages these days are so much more than just a shelter for your car oh and by the way the garage is small and I cant park the 4x4 in it so in that respect it isn't fit for purpose.

    As for reading the contract - we had one day to find a place before having to move because the previous landlord gave the house we were supposed to rent to someone else and we had no choice. So it looks like the landlord wins
     
    • Dumb Dumb x 1
  11. PEG
    Offline

    PEG Respected Member

    Location:
    Manchester
    Hi,i am uncertain,as whether you have put a 13 amp plugtop,on a 16 amp compressor,or adapted a 16 amp,to a single socket...

    My own advice,being both an engineer,and a landlord,would be to be straight and friendly,with your landlord,and maybe offer to meet the expense of the upgrade required,using a spark he approves of.

    I would be more concerned,about Stewie Griffin's time machine,in yer front room....
     
    • Funny Funny x 4
  12. S Hughes
    Offline

    S Hughes EF Member

    Location:
    Belfast
    I didn't. Read the thread smart ass
    Yes
     
    • Dumb Dumb x 1
  13. S Hughes
    Offline

    S Hughes EF Member

    Location:
    Belfast
    I bought the compressor because it said it could run off a 13amp but when looking at instructions it said it preferred a16amp. 100litres can be run off a 13 amp and some do but after my previous AC died I didn't want to take the chance.

    As to calling me stupid. Not very nice or productive.
     
  14. S Hughes
    Offline

    S Hughes EF Member

    Location:
    Belfast
    Thank you. However anything is up for debate and can be changed. Look at Brexit 52% voted to leave and that's not going to happen.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Dumb Dumb x 1
  15. Vortigern
    Offline

    Vortigern Regular EF Member

    Location:
    England
    Business Name:
    F.H. Electrical
    Well you may create a new precedent at law which was in place since time immemorial. I am up for change keep us informed! Anyway I suppose I will see it in the national newspapers "Man changes ancient land laws over socket"
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1

Share This Page

Electricians Directory Post a Domestic Job Post a Commercial Job