Discuss Evening Sparkies - Introduction in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Shane Mullan

-
Trainee
Reaction score
Just to introduce myself - another newbie here.

At 25 I have just enrolled at my local college to do the evening courses over 3 years (Lvl 1, 2 and 3).

Having spent some time phoning around local electricians in my area, no one seems to want to let me lend a hand for free! Seems like one of those situations where you need to have the experience to get your foot in the door… but need to have your foot in the door to gain the experience.

From reading other member’s suggestions, I am going to put a flyer up in some of the electrical retailers, if they’ll let me.

I only hope it gets easier once I have the qualifications under my belt, it just seems so long away!

Anyway, since finding this forum I have found it very helpful, so a big thank you and a big hello to you all!

Shane

Lord the sea is so vast and my boat so small. Keep rowing as you are and you will get there. Welcome.

A well worded notice in your wholesalers is how I got started. It only takes that one spark to be short handed on a new rewire, to see that notice and make that call. It only takes one, you prove yourself in your work with enthusiasm and then that one turns into a reference for the next then it doesn't stop and you wonder whether you'll ever get a holiday!
Welcome to the forum, keep reading the experiences of these established sparks.

Thanks everyone for your words of welcome!

Rpa - Next step is to research my local wholesalers. I used to wonder whether I would ever get a holiday, but that was whilst doing jobs which I hated doing!

Dave - that's probably a very valid point! Would the insurance issue be overcome with a CSCS/ECS card?