Discuss Extending existing swa garden light circuit and adding fittings in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

J

Johnny-G

A customer has 2 lights on a 30m circuit in 1.5mm swa which is buried half way round the perimeter of the garden and the lights are spurred off it at the end via Y boxes, they want another 10 lights added.
I would normally use Wiska boxes & earth clamps but they want it as discrete as possible so I'm looking at black enamel conduit boxes which I've never used in this situation before.
How much space is in these things, ie is there enough inside to terminate 4x 1.5mm 3 cores in a 4 way box? Do standard plastic glands fit in the ends like swa glands appear to? & how do you earth the sheath at the end? :)

The only way to do this is.....

1, join cables in a resin filled underground torpedo and bury, test IR and contanuity before pouring resin!!

2, terminate with CW glands into a IP rated adaptable box and fix ABOVE ground

Not buried no and I'm talking about the metal type not the crappy plastic ones.QUOTE]

I was talking about black metal conduit boxes!! PVC conduit boxes are not threaded, not the ones i know of anyway.... And you did state that the SWA cable was buried!!!

For Exterior conduit, you never use the Black stuff, but Galvanised. Personally i would not be using conduit boxes of any type for garden work but purpose made IP rated boxes/enclosures.

Steel conduit boxes, even with a gasket, are not as waterproof as you would think. They really need to be sheltered from rain. It is possible to fit four 5A connectors, but the box needs to be earthed, and you have to be really neat with your wiring. PVC stuffing glands will fit but ensure they all have gasket washers.