• IMPORTANT: Please note that nobody on this forum should be seeking from or providing advice to those who are not competent and / or trained and qualified in their field (local laws permitting). There is a discussion thread on this global industry-wide matter HERE. This also has more information about the warning with regards to sharing electrical advice in some countries. By using this forum you do so in agreement to this.

Discuss extractor fan issues (as in, it doesn't work very well) in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hello all, I'm new to the forum and I was hoping to get a bit of advice please:D

I'm a plumber and I've put a new fan in my bathroom. The old one was ineffective and didn't clear the steam very well. What I'd like to achieve is to be able to run a shower without the walls and mirror steaming up.

The new fan is a vent axia acm100t, the fan speed is at the highest setting and the timer overrun is running around 20 minutes after light goes off. I have situated the fan in the loft about 700mm from extraction grill (bathroom end), which is above the shower area. The ducting is insulated ducting and goes down to a soffit vent. All other soffit/roof vents within 1m of extractor vent have been blocked up to stop moisture getting back up into the roof space. I have about a 13mm gap on the bottom of the door to allow a flow of air into the bathroom..... but the walls and mirror still get steamed up, although the room doesn't fill up with steam the way it used to do. The bathroom is only about 1800mm x 1800mm.

I have just had a shower and the walls are still pretty wet . The heating isn't on at the moment as the stat downstairs is on 20 degrees.....